Contact Us

Our department sits on two different campuses. The Morningside Campus in New York City, NY, and the Lamont-Doherty Earth Observatory Campus, in Palisades, NY. Our undergraduate program, and most of our courses, are held at the Morningside Campus. Our department office on this campus is located at 557 Schermerhorn Hall Extension

Our main administrative office is at the Lamont-Doherty Earth Observatory, in 106 Geoscience. Our graduate program is also managed on this campus, and almost all of our faculty have offices and lab space there. 

Our Chair, DGS, and DUS all have offices on the Lamont Campus, but host office hours (and appointments) on the Morningside Campus. 

Department Chair
Jerry McManus
239 Comer, Lamont-Doherty Earth Observatory
jmcmanus@ldeo.columbia.edu 
845-365-8722

Associate Chair
Sidney Hemming
413 Comer, Lamont-Doherty Earth Observatory
sidney@ldeo.columbia.edu 
845-365-8155

Director of Graduate Studies
Göran Ekström
108I Seismology, Lamont-Doherty Earth Observatory
ekstrom@ldeo.columbia.edu
845-365-8427

Director of Undergraduate Studies
Meredith Nettles
230D Seismology, Lamont-Doherty Earth Observatory
nettles@ldeo.columbia.edu
 

 

Administrative Staff 

Director of Academic Administration & Finance
Sally Odland
108 Geoscience, Lamont-Doherty Earth Observatory
odland@ldeo.columbia.edu
845-365-8633

Graduate Program Manager
Kaleigh Matthews
107 Geoscience, Lamont-Doherty Earth Observatory
kaleighm@ldeo.columbia.edu
845-365-8551

Undergraduate Program Manager & Webmaster
Anastasia Yankopoulos
557 Schermerhorn Hall Extension, Morningside Campus
a.t.yankopoulos@columbia.edu
212-854-3614

Business Officer
Yasmin Yabyabin
106 Geoscience, Lamont-Doherty Earth Observatory
yas@ldeo.columbia.edu
845-365-8550

Administrative Assistant
Monica Hinojosa
106 Geoscience, Lamont-Doherty Earth Observatory
hinojosa@ldeo.columbia.edu
845-365-8482

Associate Director, Climate & Society MA Program
Cynthia Thomson
557 Schermerhorn Hall Extension, Morningside Campus
cthomson@iri.columbia.edu
212-854-9896