Contact Us

Our department sits on two different campuses. The Morningside Campus in New York City, NY, and the Lamont-Doherty Earth Observatory Campus, in Palisades, NY. Our undergraduate program, and most of our courses, are held at the Morningside Campus. Our department office on this campus is located at 557 Schermerhorn Hall Extension

Our main administrative office is at the Lamont-Doherty Earth Observatory, in 106 Geoscience. Our graduate program is also managed on this campus, and almost all of our faculty have offices and lab space there. 

Our Chair, DGS, and DUS all have offices on the Lamont Campus, but host office hours (and appointments) on the Morningside Campus. 

Department Chair
Jerry McManus
239 Comer, Lamont-Doherty Earth Observatory
j[email protected] 

Associate Chair
Sidney Hemming
413 Comer, Lamont-Doherty Earth Observatory
[email protected] 

Director of Graduate Studies
Göran Ekström
108I Seismology, Lamont-Doherty Earth Observatory
[email protected]

Director of Undergraduate Studies
Meredith Nettles
230D Seismology, Lamont-Doherty Earth Observatory
[email protected]

Kerry Key
305C Oceanography, Lamont-Doherty Earth Observatory 
[email protected]


Administrative Staff 

Director of Academic Administration & Finance/Graduate Program Manager
Kaleigh Matthews
107 Geoscience, Lamont-Doherty Earth Observatory
[email protected]

Undergraduate Program Manager & Webmaster
Anastasia Yankopoulos
557 Schermerhorn Hall Extension, Morningside Campus
[email protected]

Business Officer
Yasmin Yabyabin
106 Geoscience, Lamont-Doherty Earth Observatory
[email protected]

Administrative Assistant
Monica Hinojosa
106 Geoscience, Lamont-Doherty Earth Observatory
[email protected]

Associate Director, Climate & Society MA Program
Cynthia Thomson
557 Schermerhorn Hall Extension, Morningside Campus
[email protected]