Earth and Environmental Science Minor

The Earth & Environmental Science (EES) Minor is designed to provide an introduction to the dynamics of the earth system, including interactions between the atmosphere, hydrosphere, biosphere and lithosphere. Within this minor, students can explore topics as varied as volcanic and earthquake hazards, critical mineral resources, oceanography, geodynamics, dinosaurs, and past environments on earth. The EES minor consists of five courses within the Department of Earth and Environmental Sciences (DEES) from a choice of over 60 elective courses. These courses draw from DEES and the world-famous Lamont Doherty Earth Observatory, which together involve over 100 instructional and research faculty. The EES minor is designed to be flexible, serving both students with little to no other college-level prerequisites in math and science and students with substantial science, math or computational background who wish to dive deeply into a topic.

EES Minor Requirements

Any three additional 1000, 2000, 3000, or 4000 level EESC courses.