Goodfriend Prize - Established 2004

In 2004, an endowment was created by alumnus Florentin Maurrasse (PhD '73) in memory of his recently deceased friend, Glenn Goodfriend. A monetary research grant was awarded to the registered Lamont graduate student who submitted the best peer-reviewed paper in paleoclimate published in 2003-2004, on which the student was first author. In 2004-2005, we expanded the criteria to include not only published but in-press papers as well. Students should submit one copy of their paper along with a letter from any Lamont scientist or faculty member attesting to its scientific merit. (If the paper is in press, please also submit the journal's acceptance letter.) Submissions should be addressed to the department Chair c/o Carol Mountain (


  • 2015-2016: Allison Jacobel and Kassandra Costa
  • 2010-2011: Jenny Arbuszewski
  • 2009-2010: No papers eligible
  • 2008-2009: No papers eligible
  • 2007-2008: Brent Goehring
  • 2006-2007: David McGee
  • 2005-2006: Louisa Bradtmiller
  • 2004-2005: Sarah Feakins
  • 2003-2004: Bill Thompson