Arlene Fiore Wins AGU Macelwane Medal

Arlene FioreWe are very happy to announce that Prof. Arlene Fiore will be a recipient of the 2011 James B. Macelwane Medal!  This medal is one of the very highest honors given by the American Geophysical Union, recognizing “significant contributions to the geophysical sciences by an outstanding young scientist”.

AGU established the medal in 1961 and renamed in 1986 in honor of former AGU president James B. Macelwane, who was renowned for his contributions to geophysics, and who was deeply interested in teaching and encouraging young scientists. The Macelwane Medal is awarded annually to as many as three or, under exceptional circumstances, up to five "outstanding younng scientists" who must be less than 36 years of age on 1 January of the year of presentation.

Arlene is recognized for her major contributions to the science of atmospheric chemistry, to global policy analysis on climate-chemistry interactions, and to the mentoring of students and post-docs. She received her Ph.D. in Earth and Planetary Sciences from Harvard University (2003) and comes to us from the NOAA Geophysical Fluid Dynamics Laboratory (GFDL). At GFDL she has spent the last 7 years conducting research which applies global tropospheric chemistry models to advance understanding of interactions among regional air pollution, global atmospheric chemistry, and climate. Arlene officially joins the department as Associate Professor beginning September 1st and will continue her research at Lamont-Doherty Earth Observatory.


AGU Macelwane MedalJames B. Macelwane was a seismologist at Saint Louis University. During the 1920s and 1930s, working with students and colleagues, he used seismic P waves to derive early velocity models of the mantle, developed travel time curves for numerous seismic phases, developed methods for hypocentral determinations of deep earthquakes, and showed that 4 to 10 s microseisms are traveling waves originating from storms at sea. Macelwane was a leader in establishing seismology on a firm theoretical basis. His textbook, Introduction to Theoretical Seismology, was published in 1936.