Congratulations Graduate Student Research Fellowship Recipients

Please join us in congratulating five of our current graduate students and three of our incoming graduate students for being named recipients of NSF Graduate Research Fellowships. 


Sam Phelps

Kassandra Costa

Logan Brenner

Natalie Accardo

Hannah Rabinowitz


Sebastian Vivancos Weston Anderson Michael Sandstrom

We also congratulate Kira Olsen, Olivia Clifton and Laura Haynes for honorable mention.

As stated on the NSF website, the National Science Foundation's Graduate Research Fellowship Program (GRFP) helps ensure the vitality of the human resource base of science and engineering in the United States and reinforces its diversity.  The program recognizes and supports outstanding graduate students in NSF-supported science, technology, engineering, and mathematics disciplines who are pursuing research-based master's and doctoral degrees at accredited US institutions. 
Fellows share in the prestige and opportunities that become available when they are selected.  Fellows benefit from a three-year annual stipend of $32,000 along with a $12,000 cost of education allowance for tuition and fees and opportunities for international research and professional development. 
We would also like to congratulate two of our current graduate students, Julius Busecke and Nandini Ramesh, who received the welcome news this week that they will receive NASA Earth and Space Science Fellowships.
     Nandini Ramesh         Julius Busecke
The purpose of NESSF is to ensure continued training of a highly qualified workforce in disciplines needed to achieve NASA’s scientific goals. Awards resulting from the competitive selection will be made in the form of training grants to the respective universities with the advisor serving as the principal investigator.
An award is $30,000 per annum, including $24,000 student stipend and an allowance of up to
$6,000, consisting of $3,000 for student expenses and $3,000 for university expenses.
We would also like to congratulate incoming student Takaya Uchida for receiving a scholarship award from the Heiwa Nakajima Foundation.
Takaya Uchida
A maximum of 15 students are selected to start their study abroad in 2014.  The students must have linguistic ability of the foreign language spoken in the country to study abroad (TOEFL iBT score: over 100).  The scholarship includes $2000/month for up to 2 years as well as a round trip airplane ticket between Japan and the country to study abroad. 
And finally… we would once again like to congratulate Sebastian Vivancos who was also awarded the prestigious Ford Foundation Predoctoral Fellowship.
This predoctoral fellowship provides three years of support  for individuals engaged in graduate study leading to a Doctor of Philosophy (Ph.D.) or Doctor of Science (Sc.D.) degree. Predoctoral fellowships are awarded in a national competition administered by the National Research Council (NRC) on behalf of the Ford Foundation. The awards are made to individuals who, in the judgment of the review panels, have demonstrated superior academic achievement, are committed to a career in teaching and research at the college or university level, show promise of future achievement as scholars and teachers, and are well prepared to use diversity as a resource for enriching the education of all students.
Congratulations to all of our fellowship recipients!