Wednesday, September 23, 2015
Golden Goose Award to Cohen and Small for work on hypsographic demography
Monday, September 21, 2015
The 31st annual Sara Fitzgerald Langer Book Prize has been awarded to Kyle Frischkorn.
Tuesday, September 15, 2015
Congratulations to Chris Scholz, who has been named the recipient of the Seismological Society of America's (SSA) top honor.
Wednesday, May 20, 2015

The Department of Earth & Environmental Sciences congratulates its 2015 Graduates!  We are proud of their accomplishments and are honored to have had these students study the Earth and Environmental Sciences at Columbia.  We know they are going forward with greater understanding and ability to be advocates and contributors to a better world.

2015 DEES Graduates:

Environmental Science Majors
Eun Sik Cho
Jean Guo
Kelly Luis
Michael Nielson
Olivia Woldemikeal

Marina Gemma (Earth Science)
Gavin Murray (Earth Science)

Earth Science Majors
Maya Becker
Ana Helena De Lobo
Zhibek Issakyzy
Amanda Jones
Daniel Nothaft
Rose Ramirez
Griffin Whitlo




A special congratulations to our graduating seniors who have earned awards & honors!

Walter C. Pitman III Award - Maya Becker

Phi Beta Kappa Inductee - Maya Becker & Ana Lobo

DEES Departmental Honors - Ana Lobo

Class Day 2015

Thursday, April 30, 2015

Ten department seniors presented their senior theses at the Thirteenth Annual Senior Thesis Poster Session held in the Diana Center on the Barnard campus from 4:30 – 6:30 on Thursday April 23rd. Each gave a one-minute introduction to their topic, followed by a poster presentation period and reception. As has become tradition, DEES students and faculty enjoyed a dinner out together following the poster presentation.