Tuesday, April 1, 2014
We are pleased to announce and congratulate Alison Hartman on her award of a Fulbright scholarship to Israel.
Wednesday, January 15, 2014
The 30th annual Sara Fitzgerald Langer Book Prize has been awarded to Catherine Pomposi.
Tuesday, January 14, 2014
Congratulations Sloan Coats, Celia Eddy and Zach Eilon for receiving Outstanding Student Paper (OSP) awards at the Fall 2013 meeting of the American Geophysical Union in San Francisco, CA.
Tuesday, January 14, 2014
Congratulations Adam Sobel for being awarded an AXA Award in Climate and Extreme Weather from the AXA Research Fund. Prof. Sobel and several colleagues, at the Columbia School of Engineering and Applied Science (SEAS) and Lamont-Doherty Earth Observatory (Lamont), will use the award to study the local dynamics and global patterns of extreme precipitation and other extreme weather events.
Friday, November 22, 2013
Congratulations to Arnold L. Gordon and Walter Clarkson Pitman III for the tremendous honor of being elected as Fellows of the American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS).
Wednesday, October 16, 2013
We are pleased to announce the acceptance of Kevin Griffin as president of the Black Rock Forest Consortium. Although it was with sadness; after the passing of the former president, Professor Frank Moretti of Teachers College, he is still extremely enthusiastic since the organization has played such an important role in his academic career here at Columbia.
Wednesday, July 31, 2013
We are pleased to announce the selection of Mark Cane as the 2013 AGU Maurice Ewing Medalist for significant original contributions to the scientific understanding of the processes in the ocean; for the advancement of oceanographic engineering, technology, and instrumentation; and for outstanding service to the marine sciences
Friday, May 17, 2013
Congratulations to our 2013 graduating seniors and a special salute to those seniors earning awards and honors.
Monday, May 6, 2013
Department seniors present their senior theses at the Eleventh Annual Senior Thesis Poster Session
Wednesday, May 1, 2013
We are pleased to announce the election of Mark Cane & Terry Plank as new members to the country’s most prestigious scientific organization; The National Academy of Sciences. One of the highest honors that can be accorded a scientist or engineer in the United States.